basic chess movement

Each of the 6 types of chess pieces has a unique set of movements.

Let’s review:


Pawns move one square horizontally or vertically. In traditional chess, the pawn is only permitted to move toward the opponent (they cannot move backwards). Because is played with multiple opponents, pawns are permitted to move any of the cardinal directions. Additionally, pawns may attack diagonally.

pawn movement


Knight moves in an L-shape. The Knight can move 2 squares horizontally or vertically, followed by 1 square in the perpendicular direction.

knight movement


Bishops move any number of spaces diagonally. In, Bishops will remain on the square color on which they are spawned or captured and move diagonally within that color.

bishop movement


Rooks move any number of spaces horizontally or vertically.

rook movement


Queens move any number of spaces horizontally, vertically, or diagonally.

queen movement


Kings move one space horizontally, vertically, or diagonally.

king movement